Thursday, June 18, 2009


A day after the cabinet was announced several commentators have continued to express their views on the composition of the cabinet. Most of them are surprised with the relocation of Hon. Goodall Gondwe who has been moved to Local Government and Rural Development. It is believed that the recent economic gains that Malawi has experienced in last five years are a result of Gondwe's efforts. He has since been replaced with Hon. Ken Kandodo a relative to Malawi's first President the late Hastings Kamuzu Banda.

While others are taking time to comment on The Finance Ministry, many others are condemning the President for choosing a big cabinet. Public Affairs Committee (PAC) Chairman, Fr. Boniface Tamani could not hide his surprise at the number of elected ministers. He claims that the number is too big for Malawi's economy.

The cabinet has 11 women including the Vice President, 4 Professors, 4 Doctors including Dr Mutharika himself and it has members of parliament from all the four regions of Malawi. Here are all the members of cabinet based on the region and constituency they are representing;


Hon. Prof. Moses Chirambo - Rumphi Central
Hon. Ephraim Chiume - Nkhatabay North
Hon. Prof. Eta Elizabeth Banda - Nkhatabay South
Hon. Prof. Peter Nelson Mwanza - Mzuzu City
Hon. Dr. Goodall Edward Gondwe - Mzimba North
Hon. Catherine Gotani Hara - Mzimba North East
Hon. Billy Kaunda - Mzimba West
Hon. Abbie Marambika Shaba - Mzimba East


Hon. McJones Mzondi Mandala Shaba - Kasungu North
Hon. Otria Moyo-Jere - Kasungu West
Hon. Grenenger K. Msulira Banda - Kasungu East
Hon. Ken Edward Kandodo - Kasungu Central
Hon. Augustine Mtendere - Kasungu North East
Hon. Daniel Liwimbi - Nkhotakota North East
Hon. Victor Bandala Sanjeni Sangazaudzu - Ntchisi East
Hon. Leckford Mwanza Thotho - Dowa North East
Hon. Theresa Gloria Mwale - Mchinji West
Hon. Shadreck Jonasi - Lilongwe City Centre


Hon. Steven Stafford Kamwendo - Ntcheu Bwanje North
Hon. Dr. Lucius Grandson Kanyumba - Ntcheu Bwanje South
Hon. Joyce Banda - Zomba Malosa (But will no longer be MP)
Hon. Annie Lemani Singani Anambewe - Zomba Thondwe
Hon. Yunus Mussa - Zomba Central


Hon. Eunice Kazembe - Chiradzulu South
Hon. Magret Roka-Mauwa - Chiradzulu North
Hon. Aaron Mpupsya Sangala - Blantyre Malabada
Hon. John Francis Bande - Blantyre City East
Hon. Tarsiziu Thomie Gowelo - Blantyre City West
Hon. Kingsley Sostines Namakhwa - Thyolo Central
Hon. Prof. Peter Aurthur Mutharika - Thyolo South West
Hon. Felton Mulli - Phalombe Central
Hon. Anna Andrew Namathanga Kachikho - Phalombe North
Hon. Ritchie Bizwick Muheya - Mulanje South
Hon. Frazer Nihorya Nkhoma - Mulanje Limbuli
Hon. Dr. George Thapatula Chaponda - Mulanje South West
Hon. Patricia Annie Kaliati - Mulanje West
Hon. Mohammed Sidik Mia - Chikwawa Nkombedzi
Hon. Grain Wyson Phillip Malunga - Chikwawa North
Hon. Francis Lazalo Kasaira - Nsanje Central
Hon. Reen Bessie Kachere - Neno South

The Ministers were expected to be sworn in at 9am at the New State house in lilogwe while the Deputies will be sworn in from 3pm at the same state house.