Wednesday, June 17, 2009


Almost a month after being reelected to the office of the President of Malawi, Dr Bingu wa Mutharika has named his first cabinet. There has been alot of expectations from the general public as to who will be chosen in the cabinet. Just as the President said a few weeks ago, the cabinet is full of surprises. Here is a list of Ministers and Deputies who will be sworn in on Thursday (18th June) at the New State House in Lilongwe;

President : Dr. Bingu wa Mutharika
Vice President : Hon. Joyce Banda

Agriculture and Food Security : Hon.Dr. Bingu wa Mutharika
Deputy : Hon. Margret Mauwa

Foreign Affairs : Hon. Prof. Etta Banda
Deputy : Hon. Augustine Mtendere

Finance : Hon. Ken Kandodo Banda
Deputy : Hon. Frazer Nihorya Nkhoma

Development Planning and Cooperation : Hon. Abbie Marambika Shaba
Deputy : Hon. Daniel Liwimbi

Transport and Works : Hon. Khumbo Kachali
Deputy : Hon. Lazaro Kasaira

Lands, Housing and Urban Development : Hon. Prof Peter Mwanza
Deputy : Hon. Tarsiziu Tony Gowelo

Irrigation : Hon. Ritchie Bizwick Muyewa
Deputy: Gringer Musolira Banda

Justice : Hon. Prof Peter Authur Mutharika

Tourism and Wildlife : Hon. Anna Kachikho
Deputy : Hon. Shadreck Jonasi

Labour : Hon. Yunus Mussa
Deputy: Hon. John Bande

Education : Hon. Dr. George Chaponda
Deputy (Higher Education, Science and Technology) : Hon. Otilia Moyo-Jere
(Primary Education) : Hon. Victor Sajeni

Disabilities and Aged : Hon. Reen Kachere
Deputy : Hon. Felton Mulli

Information and Civic Education : Hon. Lenford Mwanza
Deputy : Hon. Kingsley Namakhwa

Industry and Trade : Hon. Eunice Kazembe
Deputy : Hon. Steven Stanford Kamwendo

Gender, Children and Community Development : Hon. Patricia Kaliati
Deputy : Hon. Catherine Gotani Hara

Sports and Youth Dev : Hon. Dr. Lucius Kanyumba
Deputy : Hon. Billy Kaunda

Health : Hon. Prof. Moses Chirambo
Deputy: Hon. Gloria Mwale

National Defense : Hon. Sidik Mia

Home Affairs : Hon. Aaron Sangala
Deputy : Hon. Annie Lemani

Natural Resources Energy : Hon. Glen Wyson Malunga
Deputy : Hon. Ephraim Chiume

Local Government : Hon. Goodall Gondwe
Deputy : Hon. Mc Jones Mandala Shaba

Some notable names missing out in the cabinet include Dr. Ken Lipenga, Roy Comsy,Henry Chimunthu Banda, Symon Vuwa Kaunda, Henry Phoya and Davis Katsonga.It remains to be seen as to how the general public will react to the new cabinet as there has been calls for a leaner cabinet and chosen on merit.

Meanwhile, Malawi Parliament is expected to start meeting on Monday the 22 June 2009 where they will elect a new Speaker and Deputies.


  1. I am not very pleased with the size and some allocations like Tourism and Labour. Goodall's relocation is a surprise but could be good for Local Govt!

  2. I thought Dr Mwalwanda would be given a post.