Wednesday, September 7, 2011

New Malawi Cabinet Out

Malawi President, Professor Bingu wa Mutharika has finally announced a cabinet which he dissolved on August 19, 2011. Here are the names of the new ministers and their ministries effective September 6, 2011:

The State President:
His Excellency Ngwazi Professor Bingu wa Mutharika
*Commander in Chief: Malawi Defense Force: Malawi Police Service
*Statutory Corporation Policy Direction, National Relief and Disaster Management
*The Civil Service and Civil Society Administration

The First Lady: Her Excellency Madam Callista Mutharika
* National Coordinator: Maternal,Nutrition, Infant and Child Health; Safe Motherhood, Malaria and TB Coordinator

Deputy Minister in the Office of the President and Cabinet - Hon Nicholas Dausi

Minister of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation - Hon. Prof. Peter Arthur Mutharika
Deputy - Hon Kondwani Nakhumwa

Minister of Finance and Development Planning - Hon. Ken Lipenga
Deputy - Hon. Cornelius Mwalwanda

Minister of Agriculture, Irrigation and Water Development - Hon. Prof. Peter Mwanza
Deputy - Hon. Magret Loka Mauwa
Hon. Kingsley Namakhwa

Minister of Health - Hon. Dr. Jean Kalirani
Deputy - Hon. Ralph Jooma

Minister of Education, Science and Technology - Hon. Dr. George Chaponda
Deputy; Higher Education, Science and Technology - Hon. Oteria Moyo Jere, MP

Deputy; Primary and Secondary Education: Hon. Victor Sajeni

Minister of Justice and Constitutional Affairs
- Hon. Ephraim Chiume

Minister of Youth Development and Welfare - Hon. Symon Vuwa Kaunda

Minister of Information and Civil Education - Hon. Patricia Kaliati -

Minister of Natural Resources, Energy and Environment - Hon. Dr. Goodall Gondwe
Deputy -Hon. Vera Faramenga Chelewani

Minister of Transport and Public Infrastructure - Hon Sidik Mia
Deputy - Hon. Catherine Gotani Hara

Minister of Industry and Trade - Hon. John Bande

Minister Lands, Housing and Urban Development - Hon. Yunus Mussa
Deputy - Hon. Rev. Christopher Ngwira

Minister of Gender, Child and Community Development - Hon. Reen Kachere
Deputy - Hon. Nasrin Pillane

Minister of Labour
- Hon. Lucius Kanyumba

Minster of Tourism, Wildlife and Culture - Hon Daniel Liwimbi

Minister of Local Government and Rural Development - Hon Hery Mussa
Deputy - Hon. Chimango Chipimpha Mughogho

Minister of Home Affairs and National Defense - Hon Aaron Sangala

Some of the notable names missing out on the list include Hon Billy Kaunda, Professor Etta Banda, Anna Kachikho and Tarsizio Gowelo. The new cabinet will be sworn in 8th September 2011 at New State House in Lilongwe from 13:00hrs.

Missing on the original list is the name of the Vice President, Hon Joyce Banda. The President has also given himself a role to look after the civil society.